The Mima Road

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”
― J.R.R Tolkien

Week 10. As I reflect on the past nine weeks, I can only be appreciative of all that I have learned this quarter. Classroom management, mathematical methods, reading and literacy methods, and social studies methods have enlightened me of the realities that is elementary education in the United States. Just as Ibn Batuta (a historical figure that we have been reading about in social studies methods) journeyed on the Mima Road with a merchant called Abu Bakr ibn Yaqub toward Timbuktu, I have been on my own journey this quarter on the Methods Road. And I am finally reaching my destination.

Although my interactions with Ibn Batuta’s story has been little, I can relate to his journey, his challenges, and his perseverance.  Quarter systems can be a blessing and a curse; a blessing because of the shortened class schedules, and a curse because material must be condensed to fit the needs of a quarter to quarter basis. This requires much of a college student in the 21st century – more material, less time.  My Mima Road hasn’t just been within the methods quarter, but my entire college experience. The Timbuktu at the end of my journey will arrive in June when I am handed a diploma and expectations for my future.

My first year at Seattle Pacific was like the beginning of Frodo’s quest with Samwise to Mordor, full of hope and fear. Now I have the privilege to reflect on my time here and say I am reaching the end of Mima Road and onto bigger and better aspects of life.

Leave a Reply

