Election Day

“Nobody will ever deprive the American people of the right to vote except the American people themselves and the only way they could do this is by not voting.” -FDR

Throughout our social studies methods course for student teaching, we’ve discussed  consistently about how the social studies teacher has the vital job of not only giving lessons on historical figures, names, dates, and the government, but also teaching students on how to become a responsible citizens in the United States.

Today on November 8, 2016, the American people can vote for the next president of the United States. I won’t personally share who I am voting for; however, I grew up in an education that emphasized exercising the rights that many others would fight for. All throughout eighth grade when President Barack Obama was elected, my social studies teacher Ms. Valentine played a huge influence in communicating how imperative it was for us to recognize our privileges in being able to vote whatsoever. Since then, I have been extremely excited to use that right to vote for the person who reflected my views and could do wonderful things for the country.

Granted, this election has not been the most ideal one for my generation to be a part of for the first time; however, I kept Ms. Valentine’s lessons in mind of how important it is that I choose someone to vote for. Going through my ballot for the first time ever was such a daunting experience considering my lack of passion for any candidate, but I chose nonetheless.

As an aspiring educator, I want to aim to be like Ms. Valentine for my students. Students should be taught to exercise every right given to them as citizens of the United States, and to respect others beliefs no matter who is on the ballot for presidency.

Leave a Reply

