Essentials

This weekend, after many lulls between being one place to the next, I sat down and decided on a whim to watch Netflix’s “The Little Prince”. I had no expectations coming into the film, I was just trying to use up some time with a movie. Little did I know that I would be watching one of the best animated films I’ve seen in quite some time.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love Disney movies. Like, it’s an obsession of mine. However, because this film was so unexpected, I think that’s part of the reason why this movie was so spectacular.

“The Little Prince” is based off of a children’s book by  Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. It tells the story of a little boy who lives on a planet “scarcely bigger than himself”, as shown here: the little prince.jpg

As for the rest of the film’s synopsis, I will leave it a wondrous mystery as the story is too beautiful to unfold on its own. However, a piece of the story I will tell is when the Little Prince meets a fox. They play, they bond, the fox becomes tamed by the Prince; and just when life seems to be perfectly content, the Prince must leave. As a goodbye gift, the fox says this,

“And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

A huge theme throughout the movie is what is essential… for being a grown up. What will make you become a wonderful grown up? Will it come from a life plan? Or will it come from an old piece of paper with drawings and a story on it? Especially for students, this is a question that is asked of them time and time again. For my fourth graders, it will be so important for them to start thinking about what they want to do as a career when they’re older (or so society tells them this). But I think it’s also “essential” to let children thrive in their childhood, so they don’t forget how far imagination, creativity, love, and laughter can go.

Leave a Reply

